Please Note: Services may be impacted in response to COVID-19 (Coronavirus).
Please contact any service prior to visiting in person to receive up to date information on changes to their availability (e.g. hours of operation etc.)
Safe Ride Home Sudbury
Safe Ride Service

Details
Contact
Map
Description
  • Operates a volunteer safe ride service provided during the Holiday Season to all motorists who feel unfit to be driving
  • Recruits volunteers to answer phone lines, dispatch drivers, and to drive or accompany volunteer drivers
Comments
Dates for 2019:Fri Nov 15, Sat Nov 16 Fri Nov 22, Sat Nov 23 Fri Nov 29, Sat Nov 30 Fri Dec 6, Sat Dec 7 Fri Dec 13, Sat Dec 14 Fri Dec 20, Sat Dec 21 Fri Dec 27, Sat Dec 28 New Year's Eve, Tue Dec 31
Hours of Operation
Fri, Sat 8 pm-3 amNov 15, 16, 22, 23, 29, 30, Dec 6,7,13,14, 20, 21, 27 28 and Tue, Dec 31 (New Year''s Eve)
Eligibility
Rides:
  • Anyone who feels unfit to be driving
Volunteers:
  • Must be 19 or older (21 and older to drive client vehicles)


Residency Requirements:
  • Hwy 69 S as far as Richard Lake Motel (includes Pioneer Rd and Desloges Rd, Estaire Rd and any road of Estaire Rd)
  • Long Lake Rd to end (but no road south except Chief Lake Rd) (includes Dew Drop Rd; excludes Tilton Lake Rd and all roads off Tilton Lake Rd)
  • Kantola Rd as far as Black Lake Rd
  • Moxam Landing Rd as far as Melins Rd
  • RR 55 as far as, and including, Calford St
  • Hwy 144 as far as, and including, Bathurst/Leonard St
  • Chelmsford, not including Montpellier / McKenzie / Morgan Rds
  • Hanmer north to Vermillion River (includes Onwatin Lake Dr, Desmarais Rd to the bridge; includes Capreol Rd to, and including, Suez Dr
  • Excludes all Skead Rd
  • Falconbridge Rd to, and including, Town of Falconbridge
  • MR 55 to and including Robinson Dr (Wahnapitae) (includedHwy 537 to Dryden Rd and Dryden Rd to Jessica St)
Application Process
Rides:
  • Call when ready to go home
Volunteers:
  • Application forms available at any Sudbury and area Tim Hortons
  • Drop off completed application to the Greater Sudbury Police Services Record Department, 190 Brady St, 2nd Flr
  • Applicants must provide 2 pieces of valid identification, one being government-issued photo identification showing name, date of birth and signature
Fees
Donation - gratefully accepted ; None
Accessibility
Unknown
Legal Status
(50) Non Profit
Social Media
Agency Information
Copyright
211 Ontario North
   Last Updated On November 5, 2019

New Search
Suggest Update
Share: